The Role of Armour in the Australian Defence Force

The Royal Australian Armoured Corps (RAAC) is currently comprised with the following regiments:

  • Regular Army

    • 1st Armoured Regiment – Armoured

    • 2nd Cavalry Regiment – Reconnaissance

    • B Squadron, 3rd/4th Cavalry Regiment – Armoured Personnel Carrier

    • 2nd/14th Light Horse Regiment (Queensland Mounted Infantry) – Reconnaissance

  • Army Reserve

    • 1st/15th Royal New South Wales Lancers – Reconnaissance

    • A Squadron, 3rd/9th South Australia Mounted Rifles – Light cavalry

    • 4th/19th Prince of Wales’s Light Horse – Reconnaissance

    • A Squadron, 10th Light Horse Regiment – Light cavalry

    • 12th/16th Hunter River Lancers – Light Armoured


The Royal Australian Armoured Corps (RAAC) is the grouping of Regular Army and Army Reserve regiments equipped with armoured vehicles in the Australian Army. The corps was formed in 1941 as the Australian Armoured Corps, before being given the Royal prefix in 1948. The Royal Australian Armoured Corps traces its lineage back to the Australian Light Horse regiments and in many cases to state militia prior to Federation. Today, many of the current regiments follow the traditions of their Light Horse predecessors.

The RAAC has an approximate current strength of about 250 officers and 1000 other ranks and has units around Australia.

The main characteristics of the Royal Australian Armoured Corps (RAAC) are firepower, mobility, protection, communications, endurance and flexibility.

For more kinds of tanks and australia military. Click here!